Asparagus tarts – a great recipe for a vegetarian dinner party!

26 Jan

I first had this dish over five years ago.  I love asparagus and I was on the look out for some tasty vegetarian options for when my daughter-in-law came over for a meal.   This certainly ticked all the boxes and it is incredibly simple to make as well!  Fantastic.  This time I made it during our stay in Fuerteventura.  The cooking equipment was limited in our house so I had to use a full wine bottle as a rolling-pin.  Of course, we drank the wine afterwards as a bonus!

I was talking to a friend the other day and she mentioned that someone we both knew was opinionated when it comes to cooking.  I thought about it afterwards and found I disagreed with this comment.  I know a lot of people who are foodies like myself.  In fact, if you like food and cooking, somehow you seem to attract similar minded friends wherever you are.  We spend a lot of time in the Canaries and the friends we have made there, especially Ian, David and Marie all love cooking.  The same happens when we go to Rhodes, with Maritsa and Peggy just some of those who share their recipes with me.

The UK is no exception.  Some of my friends, Erica for example, are really confident cooks.  Erica will make a recipe from scratch using whatever she has in the cupboard or freezer.  The ones I have tried have been delicious.  My friend Jane is great at Cordon Bleu cooking.  Her meals always taste as good as they look.  For myself, I am not that confident and I would best describe my food as having rustic charm.

It is true that foodies talk a lot about food and cooking.  That is because it is their passion.  It is this passion that motivates me to write tis blog, not because I think I am a great cook but because I want to share the pleasure of good food with others.  I, along with my other foodie friends, will probably never stop talking or giving opinions on food.  We just have to hope that others like us enough to tolerate this.

I found this recipe in the Good Food magazine.  Here is a link to their website if you want to give it a try.  Believe me, you will love it.  I have also made it with halved cherry tomatoes instead of the asparagus.  Equally delicious.   I served this with the potato salad found in an earlier post.  Screenshow is included so you can see how easy this is.

Asparagus and Parmesan tart                      Serves 4

http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/3551/asparagus-and-parmesan-tarts

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 404 other followers

